top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

Bài Tập: Ngôi Nhà Mới

Vietnamese Writing Practice I.


So, I said I would be trying to compose a few sentences in Vietnamese on a regular basis to help with my learning, and as I'm technically between jobs and stuck on my own at home getting more and more reluctant to leave the house as news of this new coronavirus epidemic gets more and more exposure (after being nowhere on Chinese social media since its first appearance last month it suddenly blew up today and is now all anyone seems to be talking about, including myself), I figured now would be the perfect time to start.


I can't really stress enough quite how low my Vietnamese level currently is, but suffice it to say, three short paragraphs of toddler level writing is pretty much as good as I could hope for without overextending my fragile little brain right now. Anyway, I'm putting it here for posterity and to give myself an ego boost in five months time when I look back and see how far I've come (as long as I can stick with the whole studying thing).


Phía ngoài cửa sổ trời mưa lâm thâm, mưa không ngớt từ tối qua đến trưa nay. Thứ năm tuần trước một mình tôi đi Thượng Hải. Ngày mai vợ tôi sẽ đi tàu đến đây và ở cùng tôi hai tuần. Nhân lúc cô ấy vẫn chưa đến và tôi vẫn ở nhà một mình, tôi muốn viết một đoạn văn bằng tiếng Việt diễn tả về nhà mới của chúng tôi cho cô ấy.


Đầu tiên, nhà chúng tôi không to, diện tích của nó mới chỉ có 24 mét vuông. Nhưng tôi cho rằng nhà ở đây rất thoải mái. Tòa nhà khá cũ, sàn nhà bằng gỗ, khung cửa sổ bằng sắt. Tòa nhà tuy cũ, nhưng nó vẫn còn có thang máy, đi lên khá là tiện lợi.


Lần đầu tiên tôi đến nhà, trong nhà không có nhiều nội thất. Vì vậy, tôi đã mang một chiếc bàn cà phê từ nhà cũ đến nhà mới và mua một tủ sách trên mạng. Bây giờ, chỉ đợi vợ tôi đến đây, thì ngôi nhà của chúng tôi sẽ giống một ngôi nhà thật đầm ấm.


(this isn't quite the original; I made a bunch of mistakes which my wife rather patiently helped me correct)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bài Tập: Sum Họp

Vietnamese Writing Practice III. Đề tài của bài tập lần cuối cùng tôi viết là "Ngày Lễ Tình Nhân Một Mình". Khi đó tôi ở một mình là bởi...

Into the Light

Emerging from Isolation (Partially) I’m sat writing this in Larry and Friends, my favourite neighbourhood coffee shop, with a caramel...

Kommentare


bottom of page